You are here: Home Who we are Persons


People at a conference People sit in a circle of chairs and discuss
Staff Fellows



Membership Application

Board of Directors

Prof. Dr. Andreas Mehler (Chairman)

Political Science, Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institute (Director); University of Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Gregor Dobler

Ethnology, University of Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Fünfgeld

Geography of Global Change, University of Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Barbara Korte

English Literature/Cultural Studies, FRIAS

Prof. Dr. Ursula Wittwer-Backofen

University Medical Centre Freiburg (Director)

Advisory Board


Prof. Dr. Michael Bollig

Ethnology, University of Cologne

Dr. Dag Henrichsen

History, Basler Afrika Bibliographien, University of Basel

Dr. Wiebke Keim

Sociology, SAGE, University of Strasbourg

PD Dr. Susanne Kuss

History, Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institute

Andreas Manhart

Öko-Institut (Institute for Applied Ecology), Freiburg

Dr. Oliver Müller

Caritas international (Director)

Dr. Sylvie Nantcha

The African Network of Germany (Federal Chairwoman), Freiburg

Dr. Manfred Öhm

Friedrich-Ebert-Foundation (Director Africa Department), Berlin

Prof. Dr. Julia Tischler

African History, University of Basel & Centre for African Studies Basel

Dr. Andreas Weber

Baden-Württemberg Foundation (Head of Education), Stuttgart

Members (University of Freiburg)

Prof. Dr. Klaus Baumann


Prof. Dr. Manuela Boatcă

(Founding Member) Sociology

Prof. Dr. Andreas Buchleitner

Theoretical Physics

Prof. Dr. Patrick Dondl

Applied Mathematics

Prof. Dr. Michaela Holdenried

(Founding Member) German Philology

Dr. Antje Kellersohn

(Founding Member) University Library Freiburg (Director)

Prof. Dr. Daniela Kleinschmit

Forest and Environmental Policy

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Bernd Kortmann

English Linguistics, FRIAS

Dr. Verena Kremling

Central University Administration (Head of Strategy)

Prof. Dr. Jörn Leonhard

Modern and Contemporary History of Western Europe

Prof. Dr. Veronika Lipphardt

(Founding Member) Science and Technology Studies, University College Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Christian Mair

(Founding Member) English Linguistics

Fr. Dr. Déogratias Maruhukiro


Dr. Frank Mattheis

Political Science

Friedrich Neu

Geography of Global Change

Prof. Dr. Boris Paal

(Founding Member) Media and Information Law

Prof. Dr. Diana Panke

Political Science

Prof. Dr. Michael Pregernig

(Founding Member) Sustainability and Environmental Governance

Dr. Sabine Sané

Earth and Environmental Sciences, University College Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Günther G. Schulze

(Founding Member) International Economic Policy

Dr. Harald Schützeichel

Consulting Service for Founders, Central office for technology transfer

Prof. Dr. Dieter Speck

University Archive (Director)

Dr. Alexander Supady

University Heart Center Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Ralf von den Hoff

Classical Archaeology

Prof. Dr. Katrin Wendland

(Founding Member) Mathematics

Prof. Dr. Evi Zemanek

Media Cultural Studies

Associated Members

Dr. Martin Adelmann

Political Science, Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institute (Executive)

PD Dr. Lydia Bauer

Romance Studies, University of Potsdam

Dr. Markus Bayer

Bonn International Center for Conversion

Prof. Dr. Ursula Bähler

Romance Studies, University of Zurich

Prof. Dr. Dr. Bärnighausen

Heidelberg Institute for Global Health

Dr. Jonas Billy

Digital Long-term Archiving, Archdiocese Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Mizeck Chagunda

Animal Breeding and Husbandry in the Tropics and Subtropics, University of Hohenheim

Prof. Innocent E. Chiluwa

English Linguistics and Media/digital communications, Covenant University, Ota, Nigeria

Dr. Helga Dickow

Political Science, Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institute

Dr. Wendy Fehlner

Business Economics Tourism, Hotel Business and Gastronomy, DHBW Lörrach

Dr. Yonatan N. Gez

Social Anthropology & International Development, Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institute (ABI) and IHEID Geneva

Dr. Annika Hampel

Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security and Law, Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Andreas Hasenclever

Political Science, University of Tübingen

Prof. Dr. Moritz Hennemann

European and International Information and Data Law, University of Passau

Prof. Dr. Anke Hoeffler

Politics & Public Administration, University of Konstanz

Prof. Dr. Thomas Klinkert

Romance Studies, University of Zurich

Prof. Dr. Peter Knippertz

Meteorology, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Prof. Dr. Miriam Nandi

British literary studies in a global and postcolonial frame, University of Leipzig

Dr. Aïsha Othman

Fachinformationsdienst Afrikastudien, University of Frankfurt a.M.

Dr. Clarence Pingpoh

University Heart Center Freiburg; ACAF (Chairman)

Dr. Eva Ulrike Pirker

Anglistics, University of Düsseldorf

Julia Rensing

Centre for African Studies, University of Basel

Dr. Birgit Schreiber

IASAS - International Association of Student Affairs and Services, Brussels; Journal of Student Affairs in Africa, Cape Town

Prof. Dr. Simone Sommer

Evolutionary Ecology & Conservation Genomics, University of Ulm

Dr. Ndiémé Sow

Ziguinchor University, Senegal

Dr. Odile Tendeng

Peace and Conflict Research, University of Applied Sciences Esslingen; University of Dakar

Robert Yougbare

University Koudougou, Burkina Faso

Dr. Franzisca Zanker

Political Science, Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institute